skip to Main Content

2018-2019 Committee Chairs

Joel A. Johnson
University of Oregon

Diana Mantey
University of Wisconsin – Parkside

Executive Board Liaison

Student and Family Outreach Council Team
Angie Cooksy, NACAC Delegate Director – Post-secondary
Bradley University
(262) 891-3691



The mission of the College Awareness and Preparation (CAP) Committee is to provide the students and families of Illinois with practical, timely, and accurate information on the college process. The committee’s work will focus on increasing awareness of college options and accessibility through early outreach, academic preparation, and firsthand knowledge of the college search, application, and enrollment processes.  The CAP Committee will make service and outreach to underserved and underrepresented populations an emphasis of its work.


Mar 22
May 17
Jun 01

Motivate Me

June 1
Jun 21
Jul 09

Camp College

July 9 - July 12


Motivate Me is a one-day conference designed to inform, inspire, motivate and empower students from Chicago area high schools. Students engage with college counseling and higher education professionals whose goal is to strengthen the students’ focus toward the future – specifically successful completion of high school and pursuit and completion of higher education. More information about Motivate Me

IACAC Motivate Me Conference
IACAC Motivate Me 2017

Camp College provides rising seniors the unique opportunity to learn about the college search, application, and selection process from both college admission professionals and high school counselors in an immersive college experience.  Participants will learn about navigating a college fair, essay writing, identifying college fit/match, financial aid, and much more.  Students will also visit multiple colleges/universities and experience living, eating, and playing on a college campus.  More information about Camp College.

IACAC Camp College 2017

Committee Members

Faten Abdallah, Rockford Iqra School
Will Barefield, DePaul University
Nora Bradford, University of Chicago
Guadalupe Bautista, North Park University
Rachel Brewster, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Christian Brown, Augustana College
Reuben Burnley, Dominican University
Amanda Bustamante, University of Chicago
Antandra Campbell, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Mike Dessimoz, Illinois College Access Network
Grant Egan, Marquette University
Kathy Facenda, Sallie Mae
Kathryne Gorsuch, Western Illinois University
Keena Griffin, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Brian Hodges, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Kira Humphrey, Kennedy King College
M. Faye Ikner, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Margaret Jones, Columbia College Chicago
Aimee Kackley, Ombudsman West High School
Zoe Kudla, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Colin McLaughlin, Greenville University
Sarah McLean, Northern Michigan University
Tedra Mewhirter, Northern Illinois University
Chastinee Nelson, Purdue University Northwest
Dorletta Payton, Valley View School District
Patrick Proctor, Resurrection University
Melissa Ramirez, Illinois State University
Meredith Rogers, Resurrection College Prep
Jill Sangl, Texas Christian University
Christina Schroeder, North Central College
Keldrick Stephens, Vanderbilt University
Tony Torres, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Julio Trujillo, MacMurray College
Jessica Vargas, North-Grand High School
Samantha Walden, Oswego High School
Ashlei White, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Latisha Williams, Morgan State University
Nicole Worthy-Temple, Chicago Public Schools
Semajah Wright, GCE Lab School
Benita Wynn, Lincoln College
Terrance Young, Sacred Heart University

Back To Top