skip to Main Content

2018-2019 Committee Chairs

Zachary George
StriveScan
(815) 531-7984
zachary@strivescan.com

Mayra Lagunas
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
(217) 333-0302
mlaguna2@illinois.edu

Luis Narvaez
Chicago Public Schools
(773) 553-2077
lnarvaez2@cps.edu

Executive Board Liaison

Professional Development Council Team
Ziggy Blackwell, NACAC Delegate Director – Post-secondary
Illinois College
(217) 245-3584
ziggy.blackwell@mail.ic.edu

Purpose

The Inclusion, Access and Success Committee shall advance the association’s commitment to inclusion for underserved students and the educational professionals who guide them. The IAS Committee strives to heighten awareness, consciousness and sensitivity to the issues of culture, race, citizenship status, sexual orientation, gender, age and other differences as they pertain to post-secondary access. The IAS committee develops educational programs for counseling professionals working with students who, for reasons of disadvantaged experiences, are often denied access to post-secondary educational opportunities.

Goals

  1. Submit IACAC newsletter articles relating to IAS committee or IAS subcommittee topics.
  2. Continue to promote and publicize Step by Step guides (specifically to graduate students in counseling programs, middle schools, and outside Chicago)
  3. Create College Advising Guides and/or resources for Homeless Students
  4. Create College Advising Guides and/or resources for LGBTQ community
  5. Offer a session at IACAC annual Conference on LGBTQ students.
  6. Each subcommittee to expand their goals and efforts on targeted underrepresented populations.

Meetings

Nov 02

IAS Committee Meeting

November 2 @ 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm

College Advising Guide for Undocumented Students

The Inclusion, Access, and Success Committee has published a guide designed to provide assistance to the high school counselors in Illinois who work with undocumented students. There are approximately 1.6 million undocumented students under the age of 18 are currently living in the United States, 65,000 of whom will graduate each year from high school. Learn more about the College Advising Guide for Undocumented Students.

Step by Step Guides

For the past two years, the Inclusion, Access, and Success Committee has trained college admissions counselors on how to present to underrepresented student populations using the NACAC Step by Step Guides to College.

Below is a list of admissions counselors who attended the trainings and are able to present on a variety of topics using the guides as a resource, pending counselor availability. If you would like to contact a counselor to see if they are interested and available to present, please use the contact information below. Please note: presentations are based solely on the counselor’s availability and interest and should be scheduled directly through the counselor using their contact information below.

Kelli Allen, Iowa State University kallen@iastate.edu
Audrey Barrientos, Western Illinois University, AR-Penman@wiu.edu
Aaron Boettcher, University of Illinois Springfield, aboet1@uis.edu
Sarah Daugherty, Bradley University, sarah@fsmail.bradley.edu
Michelle Defranco, Elmhurst College, defrancom@elmhurst.edu
Rayya Ghusein, Elmhurst College, ghuseinr@elmhurst.edu
Christine Grotzke, Michigan Tech University, cmlitobo@mtu.edu
Brian Hodges, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, bshodges@illinois.edu
Kathleen McSherry, retired from Eastern Illinois University
Courtney Wallace, Augustana College, courtneywallace@augustana.edu

DeVone Eurales, Knox College, deurales@knox.edu
Ben Huntington, Scott Community College, bhuntington@eicc.edu
Kari Koster, Black Hawk College, kosterk@bhc.edu
Heather Mohler, Clinton Community College, hmohler@eicc.edu
Lori Perez, Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences, perezlj@ihs.org
Erin Snyder, Eastern Iowa Community Colleges, esnyder@eicc.edu
Katie Watson, Muscatine Community College, klwatson@eicc.edu
LaDrina Wilson, Scott Community College, lnwilson@eicc.edu

Committee Members

Audrey Barrientos, Western Illinois University
Ziggy Blackwell, Illinois College
Kelsey Callahan, Loras College
Megan Camacho, UIC College Prep
Johnnie Campbell, Iowa State University
Brenda Chavez, DePaul University
Jovanna Chavez, Illinois College
Nicole Debnar, Holy Trinity High School
Katie Doucette, Marquette University
Farrah Ellison-Moore, Arrupe College of Loyola University Chicago
Andriana Esparza, Oakton Community College
Sara Espinosa, ISAC
Dana Fairchild, Phoenix Military Academy
Traci Flowers, Loyola Academy
Evelyn Fraga, Cristo Rey
Alicia Funes, Easy Leyden High School
Rachel Georgakis, Fenton High School
Aliza Gilbert, Highland Park High School
Allegra Giulietti-Schmitt, Niles North High School
Sarah Goldman, Albion College
Scott Hillman, Central Michigan University
Steph Horgan, Northern Illinois University
Jeremy Holmes, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Toney Howell, Illinois Wesleyan University
Faye Ikner, Purdue University Northwest
Arielle Kalvelage, Northern Illinois University
Josefina Lopez, Drake University
Rosy Lugo, University of Illinois Graduate Student
Diana Mantey, University of Wisconsin-Parkside
Dave Marcial, Golden Apple Foundation
Jackie Marthouse, Northwestern University
Cayla Maurer, Eastern Illinois University
Diana Mondragon, Dundee-Crown High School
Kylie Mussay, University of St. Francis
Yadira Ramirez, University of Illinois
Eric Ruiz, University of St. Francis
Juli Scalf, Schuler Program
Julianne Shufri, IEC
Sheena Shukla, Chicago Public Schools
Stephanie Szczepanski, Saint Louis University
Jessica Vargas, North Grand High School
Samantha Walden, Lewis University
Josephine West, The Ohio State University
Latisha Williams, Morgan State University

Back To Top