skip to Main Content

2019-2020 Committee Chairs

Sara Espinosa
Illinois Student Assistance Commission
sara.espinosa@illinois.gov

Scott Hillman
University of Oklahoma
scott.hillman@ou.edu

Executive Board Liaison

Professional Development Council Team
Ziggy Blackwell, NACAC Delegate Director – Postsecondary
Golden Apple
zblackwell@goldenapple.org

Purpose

The Inclusion, Access and Success Committee shall advance the association’s commitment to inclusion for underserved students and the educational professionals who guide them. The IAS Committee strives to heighten awareness, consciousness and sensitivity to the issues of culture, race, citizenship status, sexual orientation, gender, age and other differences as they pertain to post-secondary access. The IAS committee develops educational programs for counseling professionals working with students who, for reasons of disadvantaged experiences, are often denied access to post-secondary educational opportunities.

Goals

  1. Submit IACAC newsletter articles relating to IAS committee or IAS subcommittee topics.
  2. Continue to promote and publicize Step by Step guides (specifically to graduate students in counseling programs, middle schools, and outside Chicago)
  3. Create College Advising Guides and/or resources for Homeless Students
  4. Create College Advising Guides and/or resources for LGBTQ community
  5. Offer a session at IACAC annual Conference on LGBTQ students.
  6. Each subcommittee to expand their goals and efforts on targeted underrepresented populations.

Meetings

Dec 13

Inclusion, Access, and Success Committee Meeting

December 13 @ 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
Feb 07

Inclusion, Access, and Success Committee Meeting

February 7, 2020 @ 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
Apr 17

Inclusion, Access, and Success Committee Meeting

April 17, 2020 @ 10:00 am - 12:00 pm

College Advising Guide for Undocumented Students

The Inclusion, Access, and Success Committee has published a guide designed to provide assistance to the high school counselors in Illinois who work with undocumented students. There are approximately 1.6 million undocumented students under the age of 18 are currently living in the United States, 65,000 of whom will graduate each year from high school. Learn more about the College Advising Guide for Undocumented Students.

Step by Step Guides

For the past two years, the Inclusion, Access, and Success Committee has trained college admissions counselors on how to present to underrepresented student populations using the NACAC Step by Step Guides to College.

Below is a list of admissions counselors who attended the trainings and are able to present on a variety of topics using the guides as a resource, pending counselor availability. If you would like to contact a counselor to see if they are interested and available to present, please use the contact information below. Please note: presentations are based solely on the counselor’s availability and interest and should be scheduled directly through the counselor using their contact information below.

Kelli Allen, Iowa State University kallen@iastate.edu
Audrey Barrientos, Western Illinois University, AR-Penman@wiu.edu
Aaron Boettcher, University of Illinois Springfield, aboet1@uis.edu
Sarah Daugherty, Bradley University, sarah@fsmail.bradley.edu
Michelle Defranco, Elmhurst College, defrancom@elmhurst.edu
Rayya Ghusein, Elmhurst College, ghuseinr@elmhurst.edu
Christine Grotzke, Michigan Tech University, cmlitobo@mtu.edu
Brian Hodges, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, bshodges@illinois.edu
Kathleen McSherry, retired from Eastern Illinois University
Courtney Wallace, Augustana College, courtneywallace@augustana.edu

DeVone Eurales, Knox College, deurales@knox.edu
Ben Huntington, Scott Community College, bhuntington@eicc.edu
Kari Koster, Black Hawk College, kosterk@bhc.edu
Heather Mohler, Clinton Community College, hmohler@eicc.edu
Lori Perez, Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences, perezlj@ihs.org
Erin Snyder, Eastern Iowa Community Colleges, esnyder@eicc.edu
Katie Watson, Muscatine Community College, klwatson@eicc.edu
LaDrina Wilson, Scott Community College, lnwilson@eicc.edu

Committee Members

Megan Camacho, UIC College Prep
Johnnie Campbell, Iowa State University
Claudia Consuelos, Rock Valley College
Graciela Covarrubias, DePaul University
Ryan Everett, Daniel Murphy Scholarship Fund
Dana Fairchild, Phoenix Military Academy
Daisy Flores, Oakton Community College
Traci Flowers, Deerfield High School
Franklin Gaglione, Lake Forest College
Zachary George, StriveScan
Kenia Gonzalez, Eastern Illinois University
Rani Gosnell, Milikin University
Anthony Grant, Earlham College
Grace Hanzelin, Illinois Wesleyan University
Antoine Hawkins, Indiana University Northwest
Karina Hernandez Cazarez, Governors State University
Jeremy Holmes, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Steph Horgan, Northern Illinois University
Faye Ikner, Purdue University Northwest
Margaret Jones, Columbia College
Josefina Lopez, Drake University
Jhonatan Martinez, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Kate McKay, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
Diana Mondragon, Dundee-Crown High School
Laura Monteagudo, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Adrienne Nolan, Downers Grove South High School
Robert Olivieri, University of Maryland
Rigo Padilla, Solorio Academy High School
Melissa Ramirez, Illinois State University
Tyler Reimer, Lakes Community High School
Rejeannda Robinson, University of South Carolina
Juli Scalf, Schuler Scholar Program
Brittany Tierney, Eastern Illinois University
Chevonne Totten-Garner, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Julio Trujillo, Monmouth College
Samantha Walden, Intern Oswego High School
Elena Wilson, Trinity University
Lisa Winker, Indiana State University

Back To Top