2016-2017 Committee Chairs

Zachary George
DePauw University
(815) 531-7984
zacharygeorge@depauw.edu

Mayra Lagunas
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
(217) 333-0302
mlaguna2@illinois.edu

Luis Narvaez
Chicago Public Schools
(773) 553-2077
lnarvaez2@cps.edu

Executive Board Liaison

Allegra Giulietti-Schmitt
Professional Development Council Team
Niles North High School
(847) 626-2170
allgiu@d219.org

Purpose

The Inclusion, Access and Success Committee shall advance the association’s commitment to inclusion for underserved students and the educational professionals who guide them. The IAS Committee strives to heighten awareness, consciousness and sensitivity to the issues of culture, race, citizenship status, sexual orientation, gender, age and other differences as they pertain to post-secondary access. The IAS committee develops educational programs for counseling professionals working with students who, for reasons of disadvantaged experiences, are often denied access to post-secondary educational opportunities.

Goals

  1. Submit IACAC newsletter articles relating to IAS committee or IAS subcommittee topics.
  2. Continue to promote and publicize Step by Step guides (specifically to graduate students in counseling programs, middle schools, and outside Chicago)
  3. Create College Advising Guides and/or resources for Homeless Students
  4. Create College Advising Guides and/or resources for LGBTQ community
  5. Offer a session at IACAC annual Conference on LGBTQ students.
  6. Each subcommittee to expand their goals and efforts on targeted underrepresented populations.

Meetings

Mar 03

Inclusion, Access, and Success Committee Meeting

March 3 @ 10:00 am - 12:00 pm

College Advising Guide for Undocumented Students

The Inclusion, Access, and Success Committee has published a guide designed to provide assistance to the high school counselors in Illinois who work with undocumented students. There are approximately 1.6 million undocumented students under the age of 18 are currently living in the United States, 65,000 of whom will graduate each year from high school. Learn more about the College Advising Guide for Undocumented Students.

Step by Step Guides

For the past two years, the Inclusion, Access, and Success Committee has trained college admissions counselors on how to present to underrepresented student populations using the NACAC Step by Step Guides to College.

Below is a list of admissions counselors who attended the trainings and are able to present on a variety of topics using the guides as a resource, pending counselor availability. If you would like to contact a counselor to see if they are interested and available to present, please use the contact information below. Please note: presentations are based solely on the counselor’s availability and interest and should be scheduled directly through the counselor using their contact information below.

Kelli Allen, Iowa State University kallen@iastate.edu
Audrey Barrientos, Western Illinois University, AR-Penman@wiu.edu
Aaron Boettcher, University of Illinois Springfield, aboet1@uis.edu
Aubriex Cason, The Ohio State University, acason@esue.ohio-state.edu
Sarah Daugherty, Bradley University, sarah@fsmail.bradley.edu
Michelle Defranco, Elmhurst College, defrancom@elmhurst.edu
Meghan Fore, Hope College, fore@hope.edu
Kari Garcia, Northern Michigan University, kproehl@nmu.edu
Rayya Ghusein, Elmhurst College, ghuseinr@elmhurst.edu
Christine Grotzke, Michigan Tech University, cmlitobo@mtu.edu
Brian Hodges, University of Illinois, Springfield, bshodges@uis.edu
Kathleen McSherry, Eastern Illinois University kmcsherry@eiu.edu
Karina Padilla, Ashford University, Karina.Padilla@ashford.edu
Jess Root, Hope College, jroot@hope.edu
Jennifer Saunders, DePauw University, jennifersaunders@depauw.edu
Courtney Wallace, Augustana College, courtneywallace@augustana.edu
Mary Ward, Truman State University, mward@truman.edu
Gina Williams, Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville, giwilli@siue.edu

DeVone Eurales, Knox College, deurales@knox.edu
Ben Huntington, Scott Community College, bhuntington@eicc.edu
Kari Koster, Black Hawk College, kosterk@bhc.edu
Heather Mohler, Clinton Community College, hmohler@eicc.edu
Lori Perez, Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences, perezlj@ihs.org
Mike Pettis, Augustana College, mikepettis@augustana.edu
Erin Snyder, Eastern Iowa Community Colleges, esnyder@eicc.edu
Katie Watson, Muscatine Community College, klwatson@eicc.edu
LaDrina Wilson, Scott Community College, lnwilson@eicc.edu

Committee Members

Audrey Barrientos, Western Illinois University
Ziggy Blackwell, Illinois College
Brenda Chavez, DePaul University
Caris Daily, IUPUI
Katie Doucette, Marquette University
Farrah Ellison-Moore, Arrupe College of Loyola University Chicago
Andriana Esparza, Oakton Community College
Sara Espinosa, ISAC
Traci Flowers, Loyola Academy
Evelyn Fraga, Cristo Rey
Alicia Funes, Easy Leyden High School
Rachel Georgakis, Fenton High School
Aliza Gilbert, Highland Park High School
Allegra Giulietti-Schmitt, Niles North High School
Sarah, Goldman, Albion College
Jeremy Holmes, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Toney Howell, Illinois Wesleyan University
Rosy Lugo, University of Illinois Graduate Student
Dave Marcial, Golden Apple Foundation
Jackie Marthouse, Northwestern University
Luis Narvaez, Chicago Public Schools
Eric Ruiz, University of St. Francis
Heather Saylor, York High School
Julianne Shufri, IEC
Sheena Shukla, Chicago Public Schools
Stephanie Szczepanski, Saint Louis University
Josephine West, The Ohio State University