skip to Main Content

2019-2020 Committee Chairs

Sara Espinosa
Illinois Student Assistance Commission

Scott Hillman
University of Oklahoma

Executive Board Liaison

Professional Development Council Team
Ziggy Blackwell, NACAC Delegate Director – Postsecondary
Golden Apple


The Inclusion, Access and Success Committee shall advance the association’s commitment to inclusion for underserved students and the educational professionals who guide them. The IAS Committee strives to heighten awareness, consciousness and sensitivity to the issues of culture, race, citizenship status, sexual orientation, gender, age and other differences as they pertain to post-secondary access. The IAS committee develops educational programs for counseling professionals working with students who, for reasons of disadvantaged experiences, are often denied access to post-secondary educational opportunities.


  1. Submit IACAC newsletter articles relating to IAS committee or IAS subcommittee topics.
  2. Continue to promote and publicize Step by Step guides (specifically to graduate students in counseling programs, middle schools, and outside Chicago)
  3. Create College Advising Guides and/or resources for Homeless Students
  4. Create College Advising Guides and/or resources for LGBTQ community
  5. Offer a session at IACAC annual Conference on LGBTQ students.
  6. Each subcommittee to expand their goals and efforts on targeted underrepresented populations.


There are no upcoming events at this time.

College Advising Guide for Undocumented Students

The Inclusion, Access, and Success Committee has published a guide designed to provide assistance to the high school counselors in Illinois who work with undocumented students. There are approximately 1.6 million undocumented students under the age of 18 are currently living in the United States, 65,000 of whom will graduate each year from high school. Learn more about the College Advising Guide for Undocumented Students.

Step by Step Guides

For the past two years, the Inclusion, Access, and Success Committee has trained college admissions counselors on how to present to underrepresented student populations using the NACAC Step by Step Guides to College.

Below is a list of admissions counselors who attended the trainings and are able to present on a variety of topics using the guides as a resource, pending counselor availability. If you would like to contact a counselor to see if they are interested and available to present, please use the contact information below. Please note: presentations are based solely on the counselor’s availability and interest and should be scheduled directly through the counselor using their contact information below.

Kelli Allen, Iowa State University
Audrey Barrientos, Western Illinois University,
Aaron Boettcher, University of Illinois Springfield,
Sarah Daugherty, Bradley University,
Michelle Defranco, Elmhurst College,
Rayya Ghusein, Elmhurst College,
Christine Grotzke, Michigan Tech University,
Brian Hodges, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign,
Kathleen McSherry, retired from Eastern Illinois University
Courtney Wallace, Augustana College,

DeVone Eurales, Knox College,
Ben Huntington, Scott Community College,
Kari Koster, Black Hawk College,
Heather Mohler, Clinton Community College,
Lori Perez, Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences,
Erin Snyder, Eastern Iowa Community Colleges,
Katie Watson, Muscatine Community College,
LaDrina Wilson, Scott Community College,

Committee Members

Tanya Cabrera, University of Illinois Chicago
Kelsey Callahan, Loras College
Megan Camacho, UIC College Prep
Johnnie Campbell, Iowa State University
Jovanna Chavez, Illinois College
Nicole Debnar, Holy Trinity High School
Sara Espinoza, Illinois Student Assistance Commission
Dana Fairchild, Phoenix Military Academy
Daisy Flores Oakton Community College
Traci Flowers, Loyola Academy
Aliza Gilbert, Highland Park High School
Anthony Grant, Earlham College
Grace Hanzelin, Illinois Wesleyan University
Scott Hillman, Central Michigan University
Jeremy Holmes, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Steph Horgan, Northern Illinois University
Faye Ikner, Purdue University Northwest
Margaret Jones, Columbia College
Arielle Kalvelage, Northern Illinois University
Douglas Leek, Independent Counselor
Josefina Lopez, Drake University
Diana Mantey, University of Wisconsin-Parkside
Cayla Maurer, Eastern Illinois University
Diana Mondragon, Dundee-Crown High School
Kylie Mussay, University of St. Francis
Adrienne Nolan, Downers Grove South High School
Yadira Ramirez, University of Illinois
Tyler Reimer, Lakes Community High School
Rejeannda Robinson, Concordia University
Juli Scalf, Schuler Program
Jessica Vargas, North Grand High School
Samantha Walden, Intern- Oswego High School
Latisha Williams, Morgan State University

Back To Top