skip to Main Content

Significant dates in IACAC history

The origin of the Illinois ACAC is found in the national organization which was founded as ACAC on March 23, 1937, in Oak Park, Illinois. A conference of 13 midwestern college admission “field workers” met on that date to discuss ethical issues in the profession.

Later that year, 18 midwestern colleges established the Association of College Representatives, which became ACAC in 1939. Other significant dates in IACAC history include:

1947 Eight state secretaries appointed to coordinate college days in eight states.

1955 Secondary school members added to the organization — with two of the first three National Board members being from Illinois.

1957 Constitution adopted to formalize Illinois ACAC.

1958 The first Directory of Illinois Admission Counselors produced.

1961 First Illinois ACAC Newsletter distributed to members.

1968 ACAC became NACAC with headquarters in Illinois.

1969 Illinois Statement of Practices and Courtesies adopted.

1970 First IACAC Summer Institute held at Millikin University.

1973 First National College Fair held in Chicago.

1977 First student Hotline sponsored by IACAC.

1980 Absentee voting approved.

1982 Produced video: “Financial Aid – The Myth and the Money.”

1985 Voting Rights for individuals approved.

1986 Name changed to parallel NACAC (dropped “s” in Admissions); first membership brochure produced; mentorship program established; independent counselors eligible for voting membership; Professional Education Director position added to the Board.

1987 IACAC incorporated as a not-for-profit corporation; National ACAC moved headquarters from Illinois to Alexandria, Virginia.

1987 Newcomer Recognition award was established.

1989 Site of NACAC PACT training workshop.

1991 Membership in IACAC exceeded 1,100.

1993 IACAC adopted regional structure; two Director of Professional Education positions created—one for Northern Region; one for Southern Region.

1996 Name changed to Illinois Association for College Admission Counseling.

1997 Recognition Award renamed in memory of Patricia A. Kasowski.

1997 IACAC granted 501(c)(3) (nonprofit) status by the IRS.

1998 IACAC site established on the World Wide Web.

1999 President’s Service Recognition Award established.

2002 Illinois College Exposition (ICE) programs established.

2004 Newcomer Award renamed in memory of James A. Alexander.

2006 Membership in IACAC exceeded 1,800.

2008 Project Reach established to assist a school with financial need.

2010 President’s Service Award renamed in memory of Molly K. Arnold.

2010 Inaugural Camp College held at Bradley University.

2011 First Middle Management Institute held at Elmhurst College.

2012 IACAC Scholarship established.

2013 Inaugural Young Men’s Conference.

2014 ICE Fairs renamed Illinois Regional College Fairs.

2015 Inclusion, Access and Success Service Award established.


Originally compiled by Gwen Kanelos with additional information provided by Donna Epton.

Founding Leaders

Robert Amaden
Lake Forest College

Florence Dooley
Lincoln College

Mildred Fox
Evanston Township High School

Louis Fritzmeier
Oak Park High School

William Gray
Millikin College

Spencer Lane
MacMurray College

Orville Nothdurft
Illinois Wesleyan College; Bradley University

William Reiley
Northwestern University

Marlowe Slater
Blackburn College

C. C. Taggart
Proviso Township High School

State Presidents

1958-59 Floyd Thompson
North Central College
1959-60 Helen Lowes
Taft High School
1960-61 Tom Cromwell
Bradley University
1961-62 Margaret Perry
The University of Chicago
1962-63 Marilyn Blum
Rockford College
1963-64 Enzo Giuntoli
York High School
1964-65 Mary Cosner
Blackburn College
1965-66 Harry Turnbull
East Leyden High School
1966-67 Kenneth Epperson
Western Illinois University
1967-68 R. A. Roberts
Bloomington High School
1968-69 Jack Allen
Millikin University
1969-70 Lawrence I. Hoff
Hinsdale Central High School
1970-71 James Williams
College of DuPage
1971-72 Ted Leitz
Glenbard West High School
1972-73 Roger H. Campbell
Northwestern University
1973-74 Nan Norris
Deerfield High School
1974-75 James Ruoti
Illinois Wesleyan University
1975-76 James Killam
Maine Township High School West
1976-77 Robin Schroeder
North Central College
1977-78 Kenneth Reese,
Maine Township High School South
1978-79 Michael Dessimoz
Elmhurst College
1979-80 Lois C. Mazzuca
Rolling Meadows High School
1980-81 Tom Rich
Illinois Benedictine College
1981-82 William R. Davis
Project Upward Bound, Loyola University
1982-83 Robert A. Preloger
Concordia College
1983-84 Jane Koten
Glenbrook South High School
1984-1985 Chuck Beutel
College of St. Francis
1985-86 Sam Perpitch
Rolling Meadows High School
1986-87 Evelyn Burdick
Triton College
1987-88 Regina Manley
Chicago Public Schools
1988-89 Ellen J. Rostker
Illinois Institute of Technology
1989-90 Dolores I. Forsyth
Lyons Township High School
1990-91 Mary E. Hendry
Saint Xavier College
1991-92 Susan K. Biemeret
Adlai E. Stevenson High School
1992-93 Gwen E. Kanelos
Triton College
1993-94 James J. Mohan
Hinsdale Central High School
1994-95 Allen V. Lentino
Northwestern University
1995-96 William E. Tracy
The University of Chicago Laboratory High School
1996-97 Martha H. Moore
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
1997-98 Marybeth Kravets
Deerfield High School
1998-99 Angela M. (Nickie) Roberson
Bradley University
1999-00 Kathy Dingler
Crete-Monee High School
2000-01 Irene Kovala
College of DuPage
2001-02 Maryanne Kelly
Maine Township High School South
2002-03 Gail Fuller
Triton CollegeBruce Scher
Barrington High School
2003-04 Bruce Scher
Barrington High School
2004-05 Boyd Bradshaw
Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
2005-06 Sandie Gilbert
Highland Park High School
2006-07 Julie Nelson
Bradley University
2007-08 David Boyle
Glenbrook North High School
2008-09 Michele Brown
Oakton Community College
2009-10 Marsha Hubbuch
Riverside Brookfield High School
2010-11 Carin Smith
Lawrence University
 2011-12 Laura Docherty
Fenwick High School
2012-13 Todd Burrell
Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
2013-14 Mike Dunker
2014-15 Anne Kremer
DePaul University
2015-16 Beth Gilfillan
Woodlands Academy of the Sacred Heart
2016-17 Michelle Rogers
Saint Louis University
2017-18 Roberto Suarez
Homewood-Flossmoor High School

2018-2019 Patrick Walsh, Illinois State University
2019-2020 Amy Thompson, York Community High School
2020-2021 Megan O’Rourke, Providence College
2021-2022 Tony Minestra, DePaul College Prep

Back To Top