skip to Main Content
IACAC District Seminars
IACAC District Seminars
IACAC District Seminars
IACAC District Seminars
IACAC District Seminars
IACAC District Seminars
IACAC District Seminars
IACAC District Seminars


Region 2 (Northern)

Northwest District Seminar

Friday, March 16, 2018
Northern Illinois University
Barsema Hall – 740 Garden Rd, DeKalb, Illinois
9:00 am – 1:15 pm

Register by March 9

$25 IACAC Members
$30 Non-Members

Breakfast and lunch are included
ISBE PD hours will be available


8:30 – 9:00 am: Registration/Continental Breakfast
9:00 – 9:30 am: Welcome
9:30 – 10:15 am: Session I
10:30 – 11:15 am: Session II
11:30 am – 12:15 pm: Session III
12:15 – 1:15 pm: Lunch


Session I


This session will outline the new Statement of Principles of Good Practice (SPGP), now called NACAC’s Code of Ethics and Professional Practices (CEPP) approved by the 2017 NACAC Assembly. The new CEPP is now divided into four sections: Sections I and II outline the ethics and practice of our profession, for both colleges and secondary schools; Section III is a glossary that defines the terms we as practitioners are so used to, but others may not understand; Section IV discusses monitoring and compliance with our ethical practices.


Session II

Honors Programs

Honors Programs can be a great way to engage high achieving students as they transition to college. In this session, learn about different types of Honors Programs. Hear from a public, private, and two-year institution about the unique features offered to your students.


Session III

High School and Higher Education – Hot Topics in Counseling

This session provides an opportunity to break out into smaller groups based on your area of expertise. Both high school and college counselors will meet separately to discuss pertinent issues within their area. Please bring “hot topics” to discuss with the group and be ready to share your thoughts

District Seminar Co-Chair

Brad Kain
Homewood-Flossmoor High School
(708) 799-3000 x.5615

Site Coordinator

Laura Monteagudo
Northern Illinois University
(815) 753-1536

Committee Members

Katy Saalfeld, Northern Illinois University
Matt Kirby, St. Charles North High School
Shawna Armstrong, Aurora University
Brittany Wereminski, Northern Illinois University

IACAC District Map
Back To Top